Archive for August 28th, 2015

Rents skyrocketing here

Friday, August 28th, 2015

In the past few months, the rent here has been skyrocketing. It makes me so glad I have moved into a house. Portland is getting so expensive now and my little brother had to buy a home because he could not afford to rent and the places he could afford would not work with his two kids so my parents helped him with a down payment. He lived in the RC on our drive way for a while until he got the house and his sons lived with their grandparents. Its cheaper to own a home than rent.

My mom told me they had been talking about freezing rent costs so people wouldn’t be kicked out of their apartments because they could no longer afford to pay it and if they are good renters the landlord wouldn’t be able to raise it on them. I thought that is a good thing if they do pass that law. I wonder what happens to people who can no longer afford to pay rent and they can’t afford to live anywhere else and can’t afford to move, I guess they lose everything and end up homeless.

I cannot imagine still living in our apartment and bam rent goes up and it’s over $1,000 so fast, I would freak out and have a meltdown and have a lot of anxiety. I know lot of people are having issues with skyrocketing rent. People keep comparing this city to San Francisco because I keep hearing they don’t want us to become them.

Now I should look up the apartments here online to see their price range for rent and see what they all say.

Hanging up yard sale signs

Friday, August 28th, 2015

The yard sale is tomorrow and I made four more signs and my son watched me. I used Bingo markers and a sharpie to outline the words to make them stand out to the drivers. Then later in the day, I got everything ready, I got dressed and the kids and got the signs and the tape and scissors and left with the stroller carrying the signs on top of the canopy. I put the signs up at each train stop on both sides of the intersection so people can see them when they get off and I had an arrow pointing which direction. Then I realized mailing tape would be better so I went back home and grabbed the mailing tape and went to the other intersection and put up three more signs. Then I realized I should have put arrows on them too so I put them up anyway and tape them and make sure they stay (I hope) and then I headed back home. My dad was home this time so I left the kids at home and I grabbed the bingo markers again and the sharpie and left again with the duct tape. It was a good thing I brought it because the wind from the cars was making the sign I stuck on the fence flipping one side so I taped that side to the fence and I drew an arrow. I did it to two other signs too and went home. I still have the other intersection to do but I will do it tomorrow morning. I am looking forward to this weekend but the bad news is it’s supposed to rain so my mother decided we’ll do part of it in our garage. I hope it won’t rain hard. It was just sprinkling today when I was hanging up those signs and adding arrows to them. My dad also got some money from the bank for change.