I can now see why my mother hated this show

Sunday, September 3rd, 2017

 

 

When I was 11, my mom tried to get me to stop watching Rocko’s Modern Life and all those years I just thought it was because she didn’t like the show. Just recently I discovered it on TV again and it’s on Nick Splat so I like to record them to watch later. The first episode I had watched when I started seeing it again was where Rocko wakes up one morning and finds his dog Spunky missing. So he is looking for him and then he hears some squeaky sound in the kitchen pantry so he opens the door and there he is with his mop and a white puddle on the floor. I knew what the white stuff was and I knew what he was doing with the mop. But my kids didn’t pick up on it and I wouldn’t tell them. I totally understood now why my mother hated this show. It had adult content in it and this was something kids would not pick up on. They would just think he likes the mop and uses it as a comfort object and his owner is trying to take it away from him like how a parent tries to take the comfort object away from the child. Still I don’t understand the fuss my mother made about the show, did she think us kids would pick up on this stuff?

We watched the whole episode and it had adult content in the whole thing and I knew the mop was more than a comfort object and the pet psychologist was having sex with it and fell in love with it too and took it out on a date while Spunky finds a female dog and falls in love but at the end of the episode it turns out it wasn’t the female dog he was staring at, it was the fire hydrant. I was surprised they would put that on a kid’s show but that also tells me they did that to also entertain adult audience because they figured parents would be watching it with their kids so they will mind as well entertain them too. But I have not noticed any other adult content in any other episodes other than seeing a clip on Nick Spat facebook page about the show and it was where Rocko’s car calls him from the car yard where it got impounded too saying she needed him to come and bail her out now and there was another car saying something to her. The words for the video was how many of us missed this as a kid and I was still confused what I was missing so I read the comments and learned Rocko’s car was about to be raped by the other car and they were making a jail reference because inmates rape other inmates in the cell.

 

But yeah kids do not notice these things and I still don’t understand what parents worry about so they feel the need to ban shows in their home.

Leave a Reply

