So that’s why my mom volunteered

Sunday, July 10th, 2016

in my church group.

I was in Montana for a week with my family and my mom told me a story about when I told her one day in the car “Mom, you don’t die and become a god, that doesn’t make sense. How can Jesus die and become a god, that isn’t logical.” I was surprised at that comment I had made so I asked my mother how old was I when I said that and she said I was in 5th or 6th grade when I had said it and I said I had lacked a social filter and my uncle corrected me saying “You lacked a religious filter” and said he was the same way as a kid. His mom was also religious and she never put him in a religious school because she knew he would get kicked out and my mom said when I made that comment in the car after church, she knew she would have to volunteer in my church class because of my religiously incorrect mouth. So that explained why my mom worked in my church group as a teacher with another guy and she would rephrase my comments and questions to make them religiously correct instead of politically correct. But anyway my middle brother said after church got out for the summer “Mom I don’t like this at all” and when we moved to Montana my brother decided he didn’t want to go to church because he didn’t want to see who went there and have it affect his friendship and know what their views are because he had teachers who were religious and he thought they were crazy because he didn’t like their beliefs. So he didn’t want to know what his own friends believed in. My uncle said he could understand that because once he finds out someone he knows is a republican, his opinions change about them and he tends to distant away from them so he would rather not know what party you are part of in politics and what your political beliefs are.

My mom told a story about how she hated growing up as Catholic. She hated these certain days where she had to go to church twice. She would go to school on those days and the whole school had to do church in the morning and then they had to miss their morning and afternoon recess and they would cut ten minutes from their lunch to make up those forty minutes they had missed and then she would come home from school and she had to do church again because her whole family had to do church in the evening and those were the worst days for my mother as a Catholic. I wonder how kids even survived without having any downtime on those days. Now with recess being cut these days I hear, it’s a no wonder why more kids have ADHD these days. My mom surprisingly agreed with me. Even when I was a kid, they would take recess away as a punishment. Then the teacher wonders why their whole class is rowdy and why kids won’t sit still and not pay attention and then other kids get distracted by that other child and then the whole class is rowdy or not paying attention to their teacher. Also it’s listed in the ADHD criteria that the symptoms have to happen in more than one setting, at least two. If it’s only in school, then the kid clearly doesn’t have it. But of course the school would rather not listen when the parent says their kid doesn’t do this at home because then that would mean they have flaws in their education system.

We got on this topic when I told my mother about how I almost not went on this trip because of a mistake our boss made while granting vacation requests. Two employees cannot be gone on the same day from each building so he was asking me if I can move my vacation to another week but I said that can’t be done or else that would mean I miss the funeral so I can have my husband and kids come out with my parents and they can take two cars and I will stay behind. The other co worker had a whole month off for vacation because of some religion thing she has and she must have saw my panic so she moved her vacation to a week earlier so she can be back the same day I will be gone. She had saved the day. But anyway I had said they had made religion a mental illness when the person takes it too far and my mom starts to explain about why people do religion and it’s about morals they follow because some people don’t know how to live their lives and to figure out right from wrong so they need religion to teach them. My mom taught us so we don’t need religion and I said you can still learn right from wrong like read about crime and learn about what is illegal and my mom said that wasn’t enough and they mean more like respect, how to treat others. To me that is still puzzling because you can watch movies and read books to figure out how nice people act and copy them and look at how mean people act and don’t do what they do. Also even children shows teach social skills. They also tell you how you should act. But apparently people need religion to teach them social skills. But some people take it too far like doing medical neglect because doctors are against their religion and medicine or some parents getting abusive when their kids decide to not follow their religion anymore like I showed in this one post here.

Leave a Reply

