Parents being illogical.

Monday, March 28th, 2016

We have a 3 year old boy and hes getting completely out of hand. It gets to the point where hes screaming, kicking, hitting, screaming “leave me alone”, all the time. Yes it is when he doesnt get what he wants or when we tell him to do something and he refuses. We have tried time outs, light spankings, sending to his room for the night, and our last resort has been taking away all of his movies and toys. But it doeant seem to phase him. Hes normally an amazing caring kid but this monster is taking over our lives and making me and my husband fight. He refuses to listen, and it seems all the punishing we do doesnt seem to work. I have super high anxiety and all this screaming thats coming from our son is ruining my mind. I need advice, i need some support and i need to vent. Is there anyone else out there that has had a similar experience that they feel goes beyond the “terrible twos or threes”? – ps sorry for errors and grammer im on my phone.

On Reddit this was posted by a parent. She posts about how nothing works for her child and he won’t listen and throws tantrums when he doesn’t want to do something they tell him to do. These all sound like concerns. Also the fact he is aggressive and she labels him as a monster and asks if anyone has similar stories about how they feel that goes beyond the terrible twos and threes. Another concern there.

So I said it looked like ODD to me and it’s time to talk to the pediatrician. I get 18 down votes so that is my record so far for down votes. People get offended over a label and a suggestion and even my responses are being down voted. Someone said it looked like a normal three year old to her and someone else told me ODD is too young to be placing on a three year old.

All these parents seem to be forgetting that the OP wrote this goes beyond the terrible twos or threes and why did she have it in quotes? Also why is she calling him a monster? Does this sound like normal behavior to anyone? It doesn’t to me if she is labeling him as a monster and saying it goes beyond the terrible tows and threes. Parents in the thread  are being illogical.

Hey if your kid is taking a step above the means, call their doctor, tell them your concerns, they may refer you to someone to get your kid tested and there might not even be a label. They may see some things and tell you what they recommend.

And I saw another poster ask if the parent is doing rewards for good behavior and made a comment about light spanking and then said to look out for ASPD. Two down votes.

But yeah read the post in the quote box and tell me what you think?

 

 

Leave a Reply

