Feeling so dumb

Thursday, February 25th, 2016

I had another incident at work. I was putting compost in the bin and I was taking it out of my trash barrel when the compost fell out of one of the bags because I had it tipped and didn’t even know about it. It was all coffee grounds  and vegetables. I didn’t know what to do about it because I had nothing to clean it up with. I only had my broom and oh no what do I do in this situation. I just left it there and maybe someone else will figure it out or have a dust pan to do it. I just went back to my work and continued with my job. Right after break, one of my co workers asked about the mess on the ground at the loading dock. I said I did it and I had no way of cleaning it up. They said to use a dust pan and I said I didn’t have one and I didn’t know how to clean it up. I decided to try and figure out a way so I find something in the broom closet on the basement floor where I work and I use a water brush to sweep up the compost and I make it in a pile and I move it to the compost bin and leave it there again for later. I put the water brush back and go back to working again. Then soon when I am on the SM floor where our break room is, I needed more trash bags so I go in the storage closet where we keep all the supplies, and I find a dust pan in a barrel so I take it with me and I use it to pick up the dirt in the hallway where I had always left it after sweeping the break room  and I clean and then I finish that floor and I go back up to the loading dock and I was going to clean up the compost but someone had did it.

I feel stupid for not being able to find ways to clean up the mess because of no dust pan but then I think of that post I saw on Reddit in the Asperger’s subreddit. Someone made a post there about not knowing how to open a box without using a knife and that person couldn’t think abstractly and use logic to problem solve to figure out other ways to open that box while I had figured it out when I worked in a hotel because I couldn’t be bothered to find a knife to cut open a box or use scissors so I used a pen or my key.

Leave a Reply

