What happens when it snows here

Wednesday, December 9th, 2015

This was taken in January 2007 right before I moved here. It only snowed three inches and this was taken from top of an apartment building by a third grade teacher.

When I first saw the shorter version of this video, I thought it was all fake because it was like real live pinball but with cars. But it was actually real and I was shocked people wouldn’t know how to drive in the snow. But the truth is we rarely get snow here so of course people wouldn’t know how to drive in it and this was taken on a hill. It’s very dangerous to drive in the snow here because roads don’t get plowed or graveled, cars slide and they could slide into you. It’s also very hard to drive in it here so I never use my car here in the snow. I have had my dad take me to work because the Max lines get stuck and go way too slow and I didn’t feel comfortable driving and I had to be at work anyway despite the weather. They don’t care about your anxiety or how uncomfortable you feel in the snow, they just see it as an excuse. Also you don’t know how long it will take for you to get to work because it’s unpredictable in this weather.

But I also used to feel bad watching this video because I always laughed and found it humorous because it looked like real live pinball. What was the matter with me? This was real life, not a movie or cartoon. People were actually wrecking their cars and their cars were getting hit. I must be a psychopath for finding this all funny. But then in the youtube comments I saw people also found the video funny and that made me feel better about myself. That meant what I was feeling was normal and there was nothing wrong with me.

This was the version I had watched:

Leave a Reply

